Small "Vintage" Guitar Amp Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This probably isn't the most exciting of projects, but I thought I'd share since I'm working on it.

I'm a freshman in college (majoring in EE) and I'm on Christmas break right now. I've decided to take up guitar. I bought a cheap Strat the other day, but now I need something to play it through...so I decided to roll my own amp.

Most of the parts are still in transit. It actually wound up being more than I was anticipating, around $85, since I had to source parts from 4 different online vendors.

The amplifier electronics are based off of the Noisy Cricket, which is based off of the widely known Ruby amp.

The general specifications are ->

.: 1.0 cubic ft cabinet
.: Oak and steel construction
.: 3" FaitalPRO driver
.: LM386N-3 chipamp
.: JFET preamp
.: Gain, Tone, and Volume Controls
.: Internal AC-DC Power Supply (12V)

The style of the amplifier is based off of the vintage 50s and 60s Fender tweed amplifiers, though I won't be wrapping it in tweed because it's fairly expensive. Here's one model in particular that my design has taken from.
81905d1304187760t-fender-tv-front-club-1951-fender-deluxe-after-mojotone-recover-beautifully-done-006-jpg

Anyway, this is just a preliminary post. Any feedback is appreciated. Attached is my current progress.

Attachments

• WP_20131221_003.jpg
    WP_20131221_003.jpg
    120.7 KB · Views: 246
  • WP_20131221_006.jpg
    WP_20131221_006.jpg
    123.7 KB · Views: 238
  • WP_20131221_005.jpg
    WP_20131221_005.jpg
    119.7 KB · Views: 254
Beautiful build, congratulations.
And a Cricket is fine to start.
Later maybe you can put a louder amp there (10/15W) but I congratulate you on going step by step.
And choosing a Pro driver such as the Faital Pro is an excellent choice.
Most small/simple amps suffer from using cheap horrible speakers.
Keep us up to date on your advances :)