Introductions/18 Watt Clone

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all - new around here.

I've been fooling around with tube radios/phonos and amps for a few years now, and I'm about to undertake my first "from scratch" build for a good friend. A few disclaimers before we get started:
-I don't actually play the guitar (I'm a drummer).
-I know my way around a schematic, but an EE I'm not.
-I've already ordered all the goodies, so don't bother with any "you don't want to build that amp!" replies.
-My first kiddo is due any day now, so if I happen to disappear from the forum during a crucial moment in the build, it's not personal.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

My buddy wants a Marshall 18 Watt clone. I'm only building the head unit... he's building a 2x12 cab for the "business end". Here's the interesting part: I'm building the amp into the chassis of an old power inverter he picked up for $5 at a garage sale...

IMG_5257.JPG

IMG_5260.JPG

IMG_5262.JPG

IMG_5263.JPG

I gutted the 'ol boy, but as you can see, it's going to be TIGHT in there. I'm thinking of plugging all the holes so I can at least start fresh with the top of the amp. Since all the sides of the chassis will be exposed, I'll have to run all 6 tubes and the transformers out the top, and then try to squeeze the entire circuit underneath.

What do I need to look out for re: proximity of tubes to other components, etc? Any potential safety issues with the metal chassis?

Looking forward to getting started!
-Mike

Which 18 Watt circuit? Looks like plenty of room, well OK, enough room unless you are real sloppy with the wiring.
Thanks for the replies... I've actually caved to using a turretboard for this to save time and make this thing bulletproof, so I do think I'll be OK. Just need to watch myself as I do the layout.