I have no idea where to even start

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am brand new to this homebrew audio deal, and i need somewhere to get started. This is why i joined this forum, in hopes of finding advice from people that know a lot more than me. I have very limited experience when it comes to circuitry and how all this sound stuff actually works, aside from my limited acoustics knowledge from a highschool physics course. I am looking to build a simple 2 driver speaker just to get me started, but even with something that simple, i have no idea where to start. I don't even know what questions to ask. I have been attempting to get information off of various internet articles, but they have either been far to vague or way to complex.

1. Since this is mainly to get me started, my budget is in the $100-300 range
2. Well, it will probably be used in my unfinished basement. Insulated walls with an 8 foot ceiling and open floor plan. Its not exactly the best acoustic enviroment, but it is where i keep all of my musical instruments and my jam space.
3. My musical preferences are quite varied when it comes to listening. I am primarily a jazz/fusion/funk musician, but i love listening to progressive metal and classic rock. I really dislike country and some of the less tasteful rap/hip-hop. I prefer my speakers and headphones to have a pretty
4. I have some woodworking experience, but that is not really one of my concerns, as i have plenty of people to go to when i need help with that.
5. I honestly don't know which one i would go for. I really love the way tube amps sound, but i don't know if the price for DIY tube amps are above what i can afford.