Peavey CS-800 Static

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Folks;

I'm new to this so I'm just going to dive in. I picked up four Peavey CS-800's and a CS-1000X, all in various states of dis-repair, for $200 thinking it would be an interesting project to get them working again. The 1000X was just a bad resistor on the output and a thermal switch that failed open. Three of the 800's are working now by changing output triacs and finding a couple of failed components on the output board. The fourth one is a container for the various failed parts from the other three.

Of the three working units, two are as quiet as one could expect from one of these amps but the third is the one that has me puzzled. When I turn it on, it runs quietly for about 30 - 35 minutes and then produces static on 'B' channel that sounds like static you would hear from a radio. In fact, my wife heard it and the first thing she asked was if I had a radio hooked up to it. By mixing and matching components, I've narrowed the problem to the output board, but I'm not sure where to go from here. How do you test a component that only fails after running for a half hour or so? I can't detect any abnormal amounts of heat on any of the components after shut-down, and when cooled it works fine. Having an input signal or speakers connected makes no difference and there is no change with the sensitivity control or the DDT system in or out.

Any suggestions??

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Last edited: