Converting a non-MIDI keyboard

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I appreciate your concern for any financial woes I may face, but I really want to build it... simply for something to occupy me, even if it costs me over $100. I know it sounds silly to spend money on something I could simply buy, but then I will never learn anything that way and I enjoy woodworking as well as electronics. though I'm not an expert in the latter.

I know it sounds silly to spend money on something I could simply buy

Not at all silly. Anyone here could simply buy the things that we choose to build, and then this forum would cease to exist. I like making things too. I have been doing it since I was a teenager, and I hope to be building stuff till I die. I have built things just to see if my idea was stupid or not, then taken them apart. I take an evening woodworking class at a local high school to learn how to make wooden things......like guitars. So far I have tossed most of my creations in the trash, but thats how you learn.

My problem is that I have too many ideas for things I want to build, and not enough time to make them all. For me the keyboard / controller was an easy choice. It would take too long for me to learn what I needed to know to make something I would likely never make again, so I got the Oxygen. I already had my daughters Roland JV1000 that she left behind when she moved out, but it takes up far too much space. Space is another thing that is in short supply, and a full size keyboard doesn't make sense for someone who can barely play one.

If you choose to build this, think about whatever extra knobs, slide pots, trigger pads, and wheels you could use with FL studio, and add them. The Oxygen that I have is an older model and it doesn't have as many knobs and buttons as the current O25. Those would be handy when recording or mixing with Sonar.