Hammond organ..to guitar amp-

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Am curious if anyone has taken ,(specifically) a tube amp with 7951 output tubes and (apparently) no tone controls, and turned it into a decent guitar amp. I've limited experience..but have built a few kits and modified a few pieces of equipment (with help) Thanks-

Organ to Guitar conversion...

Hey! Converting a church organ: does it become a mosque organ, or -- sorry. For my first post I should be less flippant. I've got tons of useful raw paterials, knobs, speakers, leslie bits, etc. from old organs, a there's a piano/organ place nearby. Stands to reason the Hammond's a good source for the whole amp section, neverminding the difficulty replacing tubes, perhaps, but the tone source is just filtered magnetic pickups looking at toothed rotating "tone wheels". I have the unpopular version of one of these (L-101) gathering dust in the barn. (Anyone in SE Pennsylvania have a pickup truck and a reasonable offer?)

Someone will have to point out that the spring reverb comes to us out of electric organ technology, so I'll do that. Here's a trivia question: Who's label says something to the effect of: "Made under controlled atmospheric conditions by beautiful girls in Milwaukee,WI"?

I pose the question this way 'cause I can't remember the name here at work. It's a silver label on the "Folded Line Reverb", a spin-off of Accu-tronics, the original Hammond spring...what was the topic...? Oh yeah.

Let us know how you do.

you may want to take a look at the Vintage Silvertone Guitars and Amps forum. A few of the members there have been doing amp conversions (pa amps, tube hi-fi, and tube organ amps). One of the most recent is a Hammond PR-40 Tone Cabinet ( an add on preamp to drive a stock cabinet)

Vintage Silvertone Guitar and Amp Forum

jkratz