unusual noise on AB763 Super reverb clone

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've built and repaired my own amps for a long time and I've seen some strange things. but this one has me stumped as to how to fix it.

I'm building myself a AB763 super reverb amp useing one of the Taiwanese chassis found on ebay.. I've built several over tha last 3-4 years and they all have worked just perfect first time fired up.
Bear in mind that everythign on this amp is brand new and I'm trying out the Sozo caps on this build. I've never used them before. so maybe I'm not aware of something they may require different. i did read on the web site that they sound best after about 100 hours of break in.

this amp works and plays fine first time fired.. and every voltage is within 5 volts on the low side of the AB763 schematic. and I'm useing a GZ34 rect. instead of the 5U4... the reverb works great.. the tremolo works, but could be a little stronger for my taste and its REALLY fast on the speed control. I mention this in case its a symtom of something else.

BUT, my real problem is, it has this very low, kind of under the note distortion/buzz that is constant, it seemed at first to be a microphonic first tube.. so I replaced it with a brand new tube... then I noticed that the input wire to the first tube seemed to be making the noise come and go when it was moved or bumped. So, I replaced all 4 of those shielded wires. it came back again within a minute of fireing it up.

so thinking that I had a bad batch of pre-amp tubes, I replaced the first tube.. several times... always useing brand new tubes.. yet it comes back.

now here is where it gets really strange.. at first, I started wiggling the tube thinking it was not makeing good contact in the socket. it would go completely away, but comes back as soon as I let go of the tube.. so I'm thinking may be a bad socket..