DIY microphone project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

In the second and third year in Swedish high-school you spend 100 hours on a project you choose yourself. You can do research in a specific area, or construct something. I was planning on making a microphone.
I'm not sure yet what i would use the microphone to, but it would be really nice if it could be used for measuring speakers/room and also record voices/singing and maybe instruments like guitars. When i don't use it for recording stuff it would be cool having it connected to my computer for skype, ventrilo and such.

I haven't set up any budget yet, but i would like to keep it pretty cheap. I have acces to a metal/wood and electric workshop at school so tools should be available.

I have no experience of sound recording or microphones at all. Would be nice if you could help me show some different possible builds in difference price ranges. Remember this is mainly thought to be a school project, so try to keep it somewhat cheap. All the parts must be available in europe (preferably in Sweden).

Hi,

Very easy to make one, very difficult to make a decent one, and dirt cheap
to buy electret inserts that perform very well, that you simply cannot make.

Making a microphone (rig) would involve copious quantities of research.
You cannot build something well without understanding it. And there is
a lot to understand regarding various mike types, mic input types, mic
powering options, different mike technologies, mikes for different purposes,
mikes for different SPL's etc, the list goes on, e.g. stereo mikes, noise
cancelling mikes, lavalier mikes etc.

Any tranducer can be pressed into service as a mike, e.g. headphone
inserts, small speakers, and not many people know big speakers
can work quite well as farfield ambience mikes at a push, but
none of these compete with a mike designed for the job.