bass onboard preamp circuit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
does anyone know where i can get circuits for an onboard preamp circuit for an active 6 string bass? or any active bass for that matter?
im trying to redo mine.

the knobs would have to be
volume bridge pickup
volume neck pickup
bass
treble

or i really dont know. it has spaces for 4 knobs and i just really want to control the volume for both pickups and i dont know how to make a passive preamp circuit?

i saw someone make an active/passive circuit, with a switch controlling them?

this is my first time to try and do this so if anyone has any suggestions and tips i'd be very very welcome. :D thanks

Well I suppose if you want to controll the Volume and tone for each pickup seperately then you would Wire the Tone and Volume of each pickup seperately with the output of each Volume pot comeing together to the 1/4in Jack , If you wanted to put in an active preamp then you could wire it between the Volume pots and the 1/4 in Jack .....

Ive built an active preamp in both my Guitar and bass and they work really well but my Guitars were allready wired up so I just installed it between the Volume and 1/4 in Jack ......

If your Bass isn"t wired up then wire up each pickup like this :

GuitarElectronics.com Guitar Wiring Diagram 1 Humbucker/1 Volume/1 Tone

(I know it is for guitar but it"s the same wireing)

Then install the preamp between the Volume pots and the 1/4 in Jack ....

This is the Preamp I used :

Actgit-pre-pcb.jpg

If you decide to use it you might want to set the gain a bit lower , and increase the Value of the cap in the feedback loop , you will also need to get a TRS Jack so you can wire the battery so it gets disconnected when you remove the patch cord ....

Cheers

thanks. i have a question though, in ur preamp circuit,
would i have to change any of the values for a bass?