help designing and building guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, i need some help designing a guitar amp head for a cab iv'e allready built. I have never built a tube amp before but have built solid state amps before. i understand the theroy of how a tube amp works but have no idea which tubes to get hold of, what value risistors i should use, what output transformer, ect. i'm looking for about 10-15 watts into an 8ohm load. needs to have 2 preamlifiers, one for clean and one(high gain) for overdrive. i have seen a few scematics but i dont really know what tubes i should start with. i know how to wire the tone control, assumeing that i can have one stage with a line out, tone control, next stage, ect. also im not sure wether to use a solid state rectifier of tube. speaker is a 12inch celestion g12h in a sealed back cab. any ideas would be much appreciated. thanks!

The most common tubes for guitar amps are 12AX7 = ECC83 for the preamp part and pentodes such as EL84, EL34, 6L6GC, 6V6, depending on the power you want, for the power amplifier. These tubes are still in current production and are not that expensive if you keep an eye out.

The ax84 website mentioned by Pete is a very good starting point.

For your first tube amp I'd recommend to use a solid state rectifier, since it's a bit easier to build. This will maximize your chances of success and therefore minimize possible disappointments.

Kenneth

Start simple, you'll get a great tone! Remember that most guitar amp manufacturers have to make an amp that pleases the death metal musician as well as the smooth jazz musician. A hardwired amp made for you may only need one knob! In tube amps, just removing the feedback input to the pre can give a harmonics rich, grainy boost. Something simple allows you to experiment with the tones a tube can make, without getting (as) frustrated.

Some links: