Quad II build for guitar

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, I'm very new to the diy audio scene, and I'm thinking about building a Quad II. Has anyone done this?

I found a schematic online: http://www.dc-daylight.ltd.uk/Valve-Audio-Interest/Schematics/QUAD-II.pdf

Does that look accurate?

And my final question, Would this be a good choice to use for a guitar, as a standalone amp? if not, I'd probably still build it for the purpose of listening to music and build another amp for my guitar.

Thanks.

If you are new to 'building from scratch', a low power tube amp for your guitar would be the place to start- lots of simple designs for tube guitar amps are out there, tried and true. You can build from a kit or from scratch with used parts, or....
And guitar amps are mono, so half the parts count - more or less.

Guitar amp (and guitar speaker)-not hifi- for guitar.

If necessary, you can listen to music (mono) through the guitar amp, but guitar through a hifi sounds terrible.

When you move to the hifi amp build- something low-power will be cheaper than the Quad and sound as good/better with the right speakers.

Welcome to diy!

John

SSalem said:
Hi everyone, I'm very new to the diy audio scene, and I'm thinking about building a Quad II. Has anyone done this?

I found a schematic online: http://www.dc-daylight.ltd.uk/Valve-Audio-Interest/Schematics/QUAD-II.pdf

Does that look accurate?

And my final question, Would this be a good choice to use for a guitar, as a standalone amp? if not, I'd probably still build it for the purpose of listening to music and build another amp for my guitar.

Thanks.

While building a "Quad II" replica is not impossible, there are several reasons why this is not a good idea, especially for use as a guitar amplifier.

For starters, the "correct" transformers are very expensive.