Schematic request - Crate TD-70 Guitar Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Everyone, I need some help .....

The tube preamp section of my Crate TD-70 guitar amp has recently stopped working right after I finally bought my first decent guitar! :xeye:

The solid state power amp section is still working well so I'm using the 'line out' and 'line in' to acces the power amp directly.

I've tried different 12ax7 tubes and that's not the issue. It's wierd but I get no output from the preamp and also I can't change 'channel' from A (clean) to B (dirty). The light just stays on 'A' when I press the button or even use a pedal.

Anyway, I'm about to crack it open to have a look. I'm not too experienced. I know the safety rules though. I've got an oscilloscope and a multimeter.

Does anyone have a schematic for this? Has anyone ever encountered a similar problem?
I was hoping that the channel switching thing might be a giveaway to someone.

Best wishes,
Martin.

Well .... I'm still waiting for the schematic to come through so I had a peek inside:

You can see the tube pre on the left hand side and the yellow wires that come directly from the transformer. There are two zener (I think?) diodes around the fuse there. The fuse is intact and no relays are used.

2870574389_3fe065b73e_b.jpg

Power supply, ac enters through yellow spades:

2870588843_b661b428b7_b.jpg

Power amp shown just for fun:

2871414004_44357d06a7_b.jpg

Yellow wires look like ac for the tube heaters. You checked the tube is glowing???

The power supply section is on the right of the main photo
with the big capacitors.

You need to multimeter probe (carefully) round the valve base with regard to ground.

Andy

Yep, the tube is glowing fine.

I've now got the schematic and I'm beginning to panic about working near 300volts ! :hot: