Beginners Guitar amp project, any suggestions?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Greetings

I recently finished my first amplifier project a few months ago. It sounds well, works well. But its kinda heavy (23kg for 40w combo guitar amp) and overdrive sounds are not as pleasing as they would be in a tube amp.

So I decided to build a tube amp. Although I'm an electronics engineer student, they dont teach us about tubes back in the univercity. I'm also a little clumsy but I think I can manage to build a simple tube amp without getting electrical shock :p

I came across this amplifier while browsing the forum. It seemed like a good place to start. The extreme one uses a more powerfull tube at output (or thats what I got) compared to the standart 5w version.

http://www.ax84.com/p1x.html

It has pictures, schematics and some other stuff as well. I want to build a simple tube amp (at least with eq and gain controls however. I saw some junior amps which had a vol pot only :p ). Any output around 8-10W is fine for me. Is this the project to build? Or are there some other alternatives which sound better and are easier to build (more pictures, schematics, building manual, guide etc)?

Thank you for your help

I just checked the schematics. HO has 3 gain stages (I'm not sure what the cathode folower does, is it just for unity gain? ) where the normal p1 has 2 (which will have less overdirve for sure)

Will this 3rd gain stage add up a massive overdrive? I like to play rock and metal songs with my guitar as well and i dont like mild to low crunch tones too. However I'd like it to be as simple (and cheap as well, i'm on a tight budget :( ) as I can be. Will the 3rd gain stage make that much a difference?

Thanks

I liked the preamp stage of Hioctane and SEL amplifiers.

http://www.ax84.com/classicprojects.html