ibanez SR head thickness <>?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Try Talkbass.com . Lots of good people and info and ther is even a luthiers forum where lots of project basses are built and discussed.

Much as though I love Ibby basses (I have several - see avatar) I'm puzzled as to why you want to copy an SR and not simply design it to your own tates.

Hi Woodbuilder,

The head thickness is exactly 9/16 of an inch. If you need this in metric you can do the calculation.

The side view picture of your neck shows a rear reinforcing ridge that appears to be too small. On my neck the measurement from the rear bottom edge of the nut to the top of the reinforcing ridge is 1 inch.

I will post the two new measurements tomorrow.

The other poster is correct. Talkbass is a great forum.

GL

On a general note, I have played guitar for over 40 years and bass as second instrument for over 15. I am a woodworker and I've built a number of electric and acoustic guitars but never a bass.

Ideally, building a bass would have been my preferred choice. But for various reasons buying was the necessary course of action.

I purchased the SR1005 about two months ago after two years of shopping. I played about 50 basses including some very expensive ones. I chose this instrument for the following reasons:

1) It handles extremely quickly. That means that it feels smaller than it is. It also means that your hands and arms fall easily into a very comfortable playing position.

2) The neck contour is the best I tried. It plays more like a guitar than a bass. Very fast and easy.

3) It has active pickups and a great EQ circuit. Very clean sound that works particularly well straight into a house mixer.

4) The sound of the instrument is consistent in tone (timbre) and level over the entire neck. This was a really big, big issue for me.