Randall RGT 100 Amp Problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,

I figured I'd try posting here to see if any of the techs here may be able to shed some light on this problem.

I'm still learning and I'm really hoping that I am overlooking something obvious.

About 2 weeks ago, I warmed up the amp on standby for about 7 minutes, and then, when I switched to full power, one of the 1.5k resistors on one of th power tubes cooked.

I quickly powered the amp off, examined the whole amp, which was visibly okay. I replaced the resistor.

The amp powers on okay, and all tubes glow orange as the heaters are getting power and it appears to be in standby mode.

When I power on, no sound! The tubes stay orange like they are in standby but DO NOT switch to the familiar pale blue like a tube should.

Since then, I've checked the the Power Tranny. As far as I can tell, attempting to follow some guides I've found on the internet, it is okay. Proper power and resistance readings off all the leads that should have a reading. The Output Tranny...well I thought it has tested okay but the more I read, the more uncertain I am as to whether I am testing correctly.

I've tested the whole power board, and did replace two diodes on this board. They weren't bad but they seemed like the wire leads were weak.

The symptoms are the same.

I found two dead diodes on the 2 outer power tubes as can be seen in the schematic. Replaced those. Still nothing.

I've tried new preamp tubes and new power tubes.

Nothing! Still no sound/output.

The amp responds okay in all other respects. The channels switch, and from what I have been able to find following the schematic, all signal flow and components seem okay.

Anyone have suggestions. I'm sure someone besides me would have this figured out in minutes. I know I'm missing something simple or obvious!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you very much all!

Attachments

• randall rgt-100 - schematic v2.x (clearer).pdf