isolation transformer won't supply filiments - 1968 Harmony H400A tube guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

I am pretty new to electronics and am working a small tube amp project. The amp is a Harmony H400A (tube complement: 5OC5, 12AU6,35W4) from 1968. These amps have a non-polarized two prong chord and no power tranformer, making them both pretty unsafe and subject to lots of hum. I have added a grounded 3-prong plug to address safety, but would also like to add an isolation transformer.

Not having access to a small iso-transformer and doing some quick research, I picked up two $6 120VAC-to-25.2VAC 450mA transformers at RS and wired them back to back. Introducing this into the hot/neutral circuit before the amp, the amp works (less hum!), but the volume is significantly reduced, AND I can see that the tube filiments only glowing dimly relative to when not using the iso-tranny. With the amp turned off, the output on the amp-side of the iso-tranny is 112VAC (down 8V from the initial 120VAC reading from the wall). More significantly, when the amp is turned on the same reading drops to 75VAC (without the iso-tranny, the reading at the hot/neutral connection to the amp remains 120VAC regardless of whether the amp is on or off). Any insight into what is going on here?

I then found info suggesting that the hot lead from the wall could be wired directly to the tube filiments, bypassing the iso-tranny. I tried this, but the filiments then received NO power at all. Is there something I am missing here trying to wire the filiments to the wall? Perhaps the filiment neutral needs to go directly to the wall too?

Thanks.

Most likely the Radio Shack transformers can't handle the load.

You will be much better off getting a Triad 553-N68X isolation transformer from Mouser. It's less than $20.