Ring Mod Design - comments welcomed!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm a noob to this forum, and also to circuit design. I'm also interested in a specific project and I thought I'd try to glean a bit of information about the right way to do things.

This is a ring mod circuit I knocked up. I freely admit I've just done a bit of web scouring to get it. The sub-circuits for the waveform generator, the modulator and the power amp are straight off the manufacturer's data sheets. The mic pre-amp I have used is from Andy Collinson's design. I am awaiting his permission to use this and I will not go ahead without his say-so.

The aim of the project is to make a portable and battery powered Dalek voice mod. The Dalek sound is basically a ring modulator, but most Dalek builders require a small, self-contained unit. My basic circuit will be an XR-2206 (providing the carrier waveform) mixed in with a voice signal. This will be modulated in an MC1496 balanced modulator/demodulator before being amplified via either a TDA2005 or bridged twin TDA2003s to give about 20W output. Eventually, I will need to make the dome-lights flash in time with the operator’s speech too.

Hmm - not sure why, but the circuit didn't attach. I'm still figuring out the forum. :whazzat:

RingModCircuit.jpg

This may seem a very basic question to most, but don't forget - I'm new to all this. What's the difference in application between polyester (greencaps), MKT and electrolytic capacitors? The circuits I have just show a capacitor, but looking into existing circuits where I can actually see the components, there is a mixture of the two sorts. How does one decide which type to use? Is it just a case of trial and error, or are there certain types of circuit that inherently require certain caps? :confused: