Acoustic guitar amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i'm still learning about all this, so i don't know all the pro's and con's but i was thinkning about an SS combo, for a clean acoustic sound...

also thought that building it myself would be an excellent way to learn.

The main use for this would to plug in my acoustic guitar, but it would also be great if mp3/cd/mic could be plugged in along with the guitar i.e the need for two channels, maybe with phantom power?!?

the simplest way would probably be use a LM3886 chipamp with a simple Opamp buffer at the input with a Tone stack and then another Opamp with Gain......you could build a few different preamp curcuits (for low impedance and High impedance Inputs) and add a simple summing curcuit before the power amp stage......

This is simular to how I built my Electric Guitar/Bass amp accept I added several selectable overdrive stages and it is only one channel but it goes from very quiet with no overdrive engaged to super crunchy when the OD is engaged.....

Cheers

i'm confident in my soldering ability and ability to piece together
kits and whatnot. but i don't have the knowledge about all of this to figure out what i need to make a good acoustic amp.

is this a hopeless task for me, or are there people out here willing and able to guide me through?
maybe you have some suggestions for pdf's or something to study?

also i was at the chipamp site, which of the kits there would suit me?

oh, and thanks a lot for the replies so far...

A electric guitar/bass amp has to have a high input impedance as most Pickups are high impedance, so the Preamp has to have a high impedance input......

For a PA system or anything with microphones you would need a low impedance input as most mics are low impedance.....