DIY guitar amplifier cabinet - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th December 2002, 05:40 PM   #1
Gabster is offline Gabster  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default DIY guitar amplifier cabinet

Hi,

I was looking at some 4x12" marshall cabinets recently and I realized how simply they are built. Furthermore, I consider that bolting 4 speakers into a square box shouldn't give the best audio performances.

Considering Celestion's speaker frequency range (about 75Hz-5kHz), the air column should be more than a meter long.

Therefore, my goal is to build a 1x12" (maybe 2x12") cabinet for my 100W combo marshall. I'm new to loudspeaker building and I would need someone to set my on track. What should I read? What software should I use? etc.

best regards,
Gabriel
Old 10th December 2002, 06:40 PM   #2
diyAudio Moderator

Hi Gabriel

Guitar speakers are not designed to give a flat even response, and if they do so it's purely accidental!

Guitar is all about tone, and this is achieved by drastic EQing, peaky speakers, amp overdrive and cone breakup, all anathema to Hi-Fi.

Thus there is no real software that can be used to calculate this, it is all a matter of doing things by ear.

Yes, Marshall cabs are simple, but they have been the sound of rock for over 30 years, and if that is the sound you are after, then just clone one, and this will work well with your idea of a 2x12" cab. Other than that, most smaller combo amps use open backed cabs, so if you prefer the sound of a Fender Twin, for instance, thats the way you should be going!