Convert a non-valve amp to a Valve (tube) Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to the site, and I've searched and havn't seen this discussed.
I have no real working knowledge of electronics so I decided to start slow rebuilding an old amplifier, a Yamaha HY-10G III 25W with 8" speaker.
It's a cheap combo that I figured if possible, a great start off project. I am willing to buy and spend money on what's necessary to convert this non-tube amp into a working Tube Amplifier.
However, what I would like to know before I get started is if this is possible, converting a non-valve to a valve amp?
I'm sure it is by purchasing the able parts, but is it also possible to use what I have and add on?

Any information is greatly appreciated

Cheers
Sean

Tubes and Transistors work very different. For example Tubes need high Voltages and an output transformer.
I am afraid you can "recicle" only the loudspeaker and the box, to convert you amp.
You need a schematic(KT88 or EL34 or 6L6 or KT66 or 807 single ended, or EL84 pushpull or others) and make a complete tube amp. If you chose a single ended schematic(KT88 or EL34 or 6L6 or KT66 or 807) and don't want to buy an expensive output transformer, you can use a good commercial transformer 220V-6V 100VA(if loudspeaker is 4ohm), with less sound performances.

Btw you have to buy also a new transformer for supply voltages for tubes, or, for cheap construction, use some commercial transformers: for example 2 transformers 220V-12V. Wiring them properly you will have 220V AC that give you about 300V DC for B+(with solid state bridge), and also you have 12V for filaments.
See:
http://www.ampage.org/ or search the forum for a good schematic.

...ehm, sorry!
I realized only now that you come from US. You have 110V transformers...
BTW, for output transformer 110V-3V 100VA can do the job.