HEEELP, iI need a Schematic for a crate amp GX65 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th June 2005, 07:22 AM   #1
maicol is offline maicol  Mexico
diyAudio Member

Talking HEEELP, iI need a Schematic for a crate amp GX65

I have a broken Crate GX 65 amplifier. I want to repair it but i don't have a clue how to start to doing so. As I am an Electronic Engineer, I donŽt have problems with technical slang.

Can anyone help me with the circuit?. Any Tips to how to start to repair my amplifier?. I want to repair the main Transistors, but before I do it, I want an expert opinion. I have readed in another thread for some tips, IŽm working now on them.

Im grateful with any help, thanx

Maicol
Mexico
Old 19th June 2005, 07:52 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Crate repair

To get the schematic, FAX SLM @314-727-8929 and mark it attention: service dept. Do not call them; they hate that. The only thing that I have seen put one of these little Crates down is a bad jackswitch and blown output transistors. Neither one is very hard to fix. You were not specific about the problem so that is all I can do, for now.
Old 19th June 2005, 09:32 PM   #3
maicol is offline maicol  Mexico
diyAudio Member

Thanx doctor

IŽll describe my problem. When I turn on my amplifier it only produces a buzzing sound and it doesnŽt respond to any input signal. I think the problem is, as you say, blown output trasnsitors. I will replace them today. IŽve found one short-circuited diode (D17), iŽll replace it too. I hope that fix my amplifier.

I have a question, how i know if the thermal fuse built in the main transformer is not blown?