Looking for ideas on this project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey everybody,
I'm new to this board, and glancing around it you guys know a helluva lot more about electronics than I do. My background is fixing/building guitars and other string instruments. I'm good enough with electronics to wire them up pretty well.
I want to modify one of my instruments. It's a double neck homemade electric lap steel made out of a large oak board. I put it on a 4' stand and it looks like a Dr. Seuss instrument. It's wired up for regular double-neck switching, as well as with another input and another switch, so I can run my electric guitar through it and then run either instrument out to my amp.
Originally I wanted to install a theremin into this thing. I still have a good 4" x 18" of unused space in the wood, into which I could recess some electronics, add an antenna or two, and make it look even crazier (as well as capable of making wild sounds). Someone at thereminworld.com told me I wouldn't be able to do that, as the metal strings would interact with the antenna's field. If anyone knows whether he's right or not, I'd appreciate any advice. But the main reason why I came here follows:
Someone else on that board suggested I try to install a ribbon controller instead of a theremin. I think that would be awesome. I don't really know much about how they work, though. Even assuming I could build one myself, wouldn't I need to get a MIDI box or something to control with it?
My onstage setup is already quite complex and there are wires all over the place. Is there a simple way I could wire up the controller so it produces a sound (just one dumb old sound is enough for me) without adding a ridiculous amount of gear to my setup, or go over my budget (I don't wanna spend more than $300 on this)?