sound input into iBook G4? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th April 2004, 04:12 AM   #1
jkratz is offline jkratz  United States
diyAudio Member

Default sound input into iBook G4?

Phew! That piezo thing nearly wore me out! Here's a new project. I got a Mac laptop to use at work -- I'm a teacher -- and I'm all set to try out Garage Band and Sound Studio, but there's no audio input! There's USB, and someone gave me a Macally i-voice to use, which don't appear to review well; I'll know more after I try it. There are a few other products out there in the $40.00 range...

Is anyone recording on an iBook, and what works?
Jonathan
Old 16th April 2004, 05:07 AM   #2
jwb is offline jwb  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to jwb
Depends on your level of need. If you just need a simple stereo input, use a Griffin iMic. If you need microphone inputs, gain controls, and whatnot get an Edirol UA-5.
Old 16th April 2004, 07:12 AM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

I highly recommend the iMic for basic I/O.

dave
Old 16th April 2004, 03:25 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Default iBook sound in...

Several review sites and the woman tyhat gave me the iVoice agree...the Griffin thing is the way to go. You'd really get mad at me if I asked for a schematic...

Jonathan
Old 16th April 2004, 05:04 PM   #5
jwb is offline jwb  United States
diyAudio Member

Send a message via AIM to jwb
Actually, a device like the iMic is super easy to build. All you need is a Texas Instruments PCM2902, a USB jack, and two 1/8" stereo mini jacks. Power the 2902 from the USB, attach the input to the ADC and the output to the DAC. Voila: your own take on the iMic.
Old 16th April 2004, 06:29 PM   #6