Single EL34 guitar power amp advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This has probably been asked a billion times, but here goes:

I'd love to build a tube power amp for guitar with a single EL34. I'm just a regular bedroom guitarist with neighbors, so a dual 100W Marshall mono block seems a bit excessive(although they make me drool). Thus came the idea of a single EL34 amp, preferably as simple as possible. With a risk of stating the obvious: I don't want any pre-amp distortion, no tone stack, no tube buffered gold plated spring reverb etc. Just El34 overdrive.

You'll have to forgive me, I know nothing about tube amp design. I'm aware of the AX84 designs and the like, but they seem to be pre+power amp designs. I already have a pre-amps, so the AX84 designs are too complicated. I don't know, if I could just cut out the parts I don't want, like the tone stack? I guess not though?

There's also this guy:
New build - single ended EL34 with power scaling (10w) | My Les Paul Forum
which seems to be exactly what I'm after. The link to the schematic is down though... Bummer. He uses a VVR to get more drive at lower volumes, which seems like a cool feature.

So what it all comes down to is that I'm looking for a schematic for a purely power-amp with a single EL34. As simple as possible ;)

Thanks!

How much experience do you have building amps ? Have you built any pedals or did you build the preamps yourself.

I ask because used to think how hard could it be? If you are looking for simple, star with pedals a such as those by run off groove like the fetzer.

Maybe you can make your own chassis have other electronics experience?

Schematic is only the 10% inspiration the rest is the perspiration

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Agree and add: as simple as you want it to be, no preamp on Earth will drive the EL34 straight, so you need at least one triode stage driving it.