Bass amp with Audiopower DPA-600/F (sad story) - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th January 2017, 02:33 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Bass amp with Audiopower DPA-600/F (sad story)

Hi,
in December 2015 I bought a class D module "DPA-600/F" from Audiopower (Audio Power | Professional Audio Equipment) to build my own amp bass (I'm a bassist and a diy-er) and have a light amp to carry for my gig.
I equipped this amp with a simple preamplifier (no tone controls, my bass is active) that I built time ago using an OPA2132 (non-inverting configuration).
Since the DPA-600 provided onboard power (+/- 15V, 250 mA) for external boards I used those outputs to power the preamp.
Everything has worked very well till March 2016 when suddenly the DPA-600 went into protection and some smoke got out from the case.
Then I contacted Audiopower and sent the DPA-600 to be fixed: one of the voltage stabilizer broke down due to my preamp, they told me.
It was strange for me since the preamp is really simple and I've used it in other projects without problems but I took their advice to disconnect the preamp from the DPA..and so I did (the repairing costed me 50 Euro, anyway).
I built then a separated power supply and everything has worked well till last december when after 10 minutes of playing (on a gig) it went into protection and after a few secs turned off dead !!
Fortunately the bassist of the other band (we were two bands) gave me his amp head so I was able to continue the gig.