Beginner questions - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th January 2017, 01:57 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Beginner questions

Hi,

I'm studying AC30 schematics (in particular, this one which has less-interesting signal paths removed) for the first time and have a few questions.
  1. While the chassis is connected to ground, it seems to me that an internal failure (for example, and I don't know if this is realistic, say V1 melts and the grid and plate fuse together) could cause the i/o jacks to become electrically hot. Is this really safe/normal in modern high voltage circuits? My first thought if I were designing the circuit (good thing I'm not) would be to attach a voltage limiter to each input/output contact.
  2. I would like to understand the long-tail pair at V3 a bit better. I believe for small signals the plate currents can be modeled by this system of equations:
    Click the image to open in full size.
    I can see that i2 is in antiphase with i1, which is in phase with v_in. However, I don't see a particular reason why the AC components of i1 and i2 would have similar magnitude or shape to each other. And the ratio of magnitudes between i1 and i2 seems to depend on mu2. Is this supposed to happen? Am I confused?
  3. If the phase splitter output is as asymmetric as it seems, is there any point at all to matching the output tubes?

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Old 4th January 2017, 05:48 PM   #2
Enzo is offline Enzo  United States
diyAudio Member