Firefly Rev. 5 Questions - Low output, high distortion

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone, newbie here! Please be kind! :)

So a long time ago in a house far, far away, I decided to build a Firefly amp. As I tell the good people at Guitar Center, I'm really more of a guitar owner than a player, lol, but I still like to pick one up every so often and try to teach myself, hoping that one day some different training technique will stick.

Anyway, I'm a general electronics geek, but not a particularly good one, that is, I probably won't understand you if you start launching into full EE speak, and I don't have any advanced tools like an oscilloscope (sadly), just a really good multimeter. I'm not so very good at figuring out what is wrong when things don't work without any obvious clues. So, with that in mind, here's my situation.

I have this Revision 5 Firefly amp board by John Calhoun that I put together a long time ago, and when I couldn't get it to work, tried to figure it all out with some help on another forum, and couldn't ultimately get anywhere. It didn't help that my soldering skills weren't up to par then, nor was my gear. Since then, I've upgraded both, with a nice Hakko FX-888 and a great Fluke multimeter (though my hands still shake, always have).

After moving, I finally got some room and some time to mess with it, cleaned up the board thoroughly from all the dust it'd gathered, and have taken a second look at it. My soldering really sucked, and despite not having any bridged connections, most of my connections didn't go all the way through very well, and some were borderline dry joints.