Guitar amp and bass amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd November 2014, 08:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Guitar amp and bass amp

Hello, everyone.

I'm new at building amps, so I would like some opinions and a little help on how I'm going to proceed.

Me and my band are looking into building some tube amps, one for me(guitar amp), and one for our bassist.

The reason why I want to build this myself is:

1. I'm able to make my own sound the way I want it to sound.
2. The price for a good tubeamp here in Norway is insanely expensive.
3. I would LOVE to be able to build my own tube amps! I love electronics, and I'm currently building some stomp box clones. Lets hope that ends up successful.

Ok, let me explain a little what I want to build.

I wanna build a guitar amp(tubes ofc) around 120-200 watts, and a bass amp(still tubes) 200-500 watts.

One of the most important thing about these amps is the noise. I'm tired of buying amps that got noise. Buzzing, hissing, etc.

How to build a completelly quiet amp that is all quiet with a lot of power.
I only need a clean channel. No need for any gain channel. I got pedals for gain.

I would need advice, schematics, etching transparrents and a lot of people having confidence that I will be able to do this. I will put out pictures and videos of both making it and trying it out.

I really hope someone wants to help me with this.

Sincerely,

John
Old 3rd November 2014, 10:31 AM   #2
JMFahey is offline JMFahey  Argentina
Sin Bin

You can, but looks like you never built tube amps before, so I suggest you go step by step, and readjust your goals a little.