Guitar opamp Pre-amp input resistors - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th August 2013, 11:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Guitar opamp Pre-amp input resistors

Hello, noob here.

I am using 1/2 TL072 at a gain of 8 as a pre-preamp feeding a high gain tube pre, for the purpose of reducing noise floor hiss.

In an effort to reduce it further, it has been found the input resistors are contributing a good portion of noise, regardless of whether anything is plugged in or not.

Experimenting, reducing the parallel value of the 68k and 100k resistors, to ~10k, the hiss is greatly reduced.

What I don't understand, and could not find out by research, was how the parallel pair and the coupling cap suppress RFI, or if reduction would cause any performance issues. I wish to reduce the values to 6.8k and 10k, but don't know if the cap value should be adjusted as well.

P27B Input Section .JPG

I know there are quiter opamps, but I wish to order lower value, low noise resistors at the same time as the opamp. I am tempted to go with foil$ but my budget won't allow. Paralleling is another option which averages the thermal noise; thus suppressing the total when they add.

Also, would there be any advantage to using the other half as a buffer?

Any comments welcome. Thanks.
Old 29th August 2013, 11:44 PM   #2
Zero D is offline Zero D  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Quote:
In an effort to reduce it further, it has been found the input resistors are contributing a good portion of noise, regardless of whether anything is plugged in or not.
Hi,