Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th June 2013, 02:31 PM   #1
Cassiel is offline Cassiel  Libya
diyAudio Member

Hi fellas, just me trying to DIY a Dallas Rangemaster.

Fuzz Central -- Dallas Rangemaster

I've got the OC71, the problem is the box is too small and I was thinking about a separate power supply. Now, I don't know if this is a good idea or not. A regulated 9 VDC? I s this going to make it noisier and, perhaps, not as good sounding? I have very little experience with stompboxes. What do you recommend? Any schematic?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSCN1513.jpg (176.0 KB, 214 views)

Last edited by Cassiel; 15th June 2013 at 04:09 PM. Reason: I had my reasons to change the title but...not possible it seems.
Old 5th June 2013, 02:46 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I've built tons of Rangemasters. They can sound good from regulated supply and it won't have any additional noise if there is enough filtering.
If you plan on using the external supply with that pedal only, it is OK with stick with the usual "positive ground" arrangement of the circuit. But, if you want to share the power supply with other pedals on a daisy chain, you will need to flip the circuit "upside-down" and wire it for negative ground, or else you will have trouble.
It is such a simple circuit, there are many opportunities for mods and variations to tailor it to your needs. I personally like adding a rotary switch to the input with a selection of different input caps, to give different tones. I usually start with a low value of around 2,2nF and progressively increase in size until about 47-100nF. At the higher values, it becomes a full-range boost with a fat dirty sound.
Old 5th June 2013, 03:02 PM   #3
diyAudio Member