Advice for first DIY project (MIDI sample playing instrument)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

This is my first post here on diyAudio. I am interested in getting started with microcontrollers and hardware, and combined with my general interest in music I'd like to make an instrument and I need advice on where to start. The project is for fun and for learning about embedded hardware and software, some electronics and possibly some DSP. I am already a software developer with experience with C/C++/Python/Java, etc, but I'm new to assembler and embedded systems.

My idea is to create a MIDI module that has a MIDI input and line audio output. It should play a sample in the right pitch and amplitude (velocity) based on the NOTE ON / NOTE OFF messages. The dream end-product would be something that plays a high quality multi-sampled Fender Rhodes with possibly some DSP effects on it, controlled by knobs.

I understand I need to start somewhere much simpler. My idea is a simple MIDI-playing device that will play a sine wave or a short sample in the right pitch.

Do you guys have any advice on where I should start? My first question is what development board could be a good fit. I have been looking at three alternative approaches so far, but I am not sure I am looking for the right boards at all.

- Arduino. It sounds like people think it's not fast enough for DSP work, but maybe coupled with a shield like Audio Codec Shield I could offload the processor from the heavy work? I don't know much about DSP yet, so I am not sure if this is a viable option. In the long run, to play high quality samples (i.e. maybe 2-300 mb worth of samples), would require quite a bit of both storage and RAM. I guess, in this case I will also need to build some kind of a MIDI interface or write the code to interface with a USB midi keyboard.