The Right Tube For The Job - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th May 2013, 01:22 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default The Right Tube For The Job

Ok forgive me since I'm a newb to all this valve techy stuff but I just bought an ashton vp50 combo not the worlds best amp but I liked the sound in the shop and looks pretty rugged so for 200 I went for it. I noticed in the manual it claims to have 12ax7's in the preamp upon closer inspection it seems to have a 12at7 in the V2 position when I searched the net I noticed lots of other shops selling this amp said the same that it was 12ax7+12at7. I was just wondering why this might have been changed? Would I be able to just swap the at7 with an ax7 without biasing and would this have much of an impact on the sound quality/volumes?

any help would be great
Old 4th May 2013, 02:54 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

My 2 cents are:
12AX7 has gain of 100 times, 12AT7 has gain of 60/70 times, so sound certainly will change.
Maybe it was a price choice.
Old 4th May 2013, 03:18 AM   #3
AJT is offline AJT  Philippines
diyAudio Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by FullRangeMan View Post
My 2 cents are:
12AX7 has gain of 100 times, 12AT7 has gain of 60/70 times, so sound certainly will change.
Maybe it was a price choice.
depends on the circuit used........perhaps they had no real need for more gain....
Old 4th May 2013, 06:24 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

that's what struck me as unusual it's meant to be an amp with 4 gain channels (technically 2 channels with 2 sub channels) clean, gain, distortion and more distortion (lead I guess) but clean and crunch seems to be louder than the second 2 channels I wondered if the 12at7 could cause that imbalance of volumes?