I have no idea where to even start - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th March 2013, 06:43 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to Izzytoots
Question I have no idea where to even start

I am brand new to this homebrew audio deal, and i need somewhere to get started. This is why i joined this forum, in hopes of finding advice from people that know a lot more than me. I have very limited experience when it comes to circuitry and how all this sound stuff actually works, aside from my limited acoustics knowledge from a highschool physics course. I am looking to build a simple 2 driver speaker just to get me started, but even with something that simple, i have no idea where to start. I don't even know what questions to ask. I have been attempting to get information off of various internet articles, but they have either been far to vague or way to complex.
Old 6th March 2013, 07:00 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

1. Budget?
2. What is your listening space?
3. What are your listening habits, music genres, loudness levels etc?
4. Any woodworking skills?
5. Amplifier type, SS or tube?

Just the tip of the iceberg.

jeff
Old 6th March 2013, 07:10 PM   #3
Nikitas is offline Nikitas  Greece
diyAudio Member

start with a good book like designing audio amplifiers from bob cordell. Don't worry about the money, it will pay you off. Plus you are going to spend bags of money in this hobby
Old 6th March 2013, 07:19 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

1. Since this is mainly to get me started, my budget is in the $100-300 range