Piezo stereo preamp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th February 2013, 01:18 AM   #1
Limp is offline Limp  Norway
diyAudio Member

Default Piezo stereo preamp

I'm currently putting together a contact mic system to record various instrument and environmental sounds using 20mm piezo discs. Now I've come to the preamp part and need a little help. I'm very new to this.

This design has been chosen: megalithia.com/sounds/tech/piezo/opamp.html, simply because it seems to be the only one with decent documentation.
I know how to follow a simple circuit, what I need help with is how to turn it into a stereo amplifier. I suspect this is stupidly simple, but as I said, I'm very new to this.
Sincerely sorry for all the fuss.

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 5th February 2013, 08:32 PM   #2
Tesla88 is offline Tesla88  Italy
diyAudio Member

To make it stereo , just duplicate the circuit , ground must be common to both circuits , you can use a dual op-amp ...
What i doubt is linearity , piezo are not that linear IMHO so i would use a circuit with a frequency response inverse to the piezo response , this would compensate the lack of piezo giving a quasi-flat curve.
I bet better conditioning circuit for piezo exists...
Old 5th February 2013, 09:31 PM   #3
JMFahey is offline JMFahey  Argentina
diyAudio Member

How many mics will you use?
How will you attach piezos to instruments?
Can you give an example of an instrument or "thing" whose sound you want to catch?
Thanks.
Old 5th February 2013, 10:41 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the replies.
I have two discs per channel, connected in series, attached to various resonant surfaces. A guitar, a tin flute and a steel plate.