Voltage between chassis ground and earth ground - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th November 2012, 08:24 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Voltage between chassis ground and earth ground

Newbie here so go easy on me. This is probably somewhere in the basic discussion section but I honestly cannot find it.

In short, the main question is should there be a voltage difference between the chassis ground of an tube amp and the earth ground? If so, what should it be? At length, I am converting an old 6V6 pushpull PA amp (Pacemaker PM 20) to a guitar amp. Warm up the amp and turn up volume and it is very quiet. Touch the metal chassis and it hums. Check the voltage between the chassis and earth ground and it is about 50 V AC, which seems a bit high to me. Checked another one of my amps and the chassis to ground voltage was 7 V AC.

My inclination is to just ground the chassis, but am afraid that the create a excessive draw on the power transformer and burn it up.

Again, newbie here so go easy. Thanks for your help.
Old 14th November 2012, 08:34 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Old amplifiers are often just flat dangerous, and this is no exception. I'd very strongly recommend that you fit a three wire power cord and bolt the green (safety Earth) wire to chassis.

If it were just your old carcass or mine at stake it may not be much of an issue, but children or pets could get hurt, and nobody wants that. So, yes, your inclination is completely correct.

All good fortune,
Chris
Old 14th November 2012, 09:11 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Send a message via Skype™ to Wavebourn