Silvertone 1482 Fuse Troubleshooter help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th October 2012, 06:51 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Silvertone 1482 Fuse Troubleshooter help

Hi, this is my first post after lots of lurking and googling, and I'm still a tube rookie, but I could use a little good advice to save a lot of solder.

I got a Silvertone 1482 in mint condition from a friend. I was even more of a rookie at the time, and plugged it into the wall and powered it up after sitting in an attic for 40 yrs, instead of using a variac

So it worked fine for about 15 minutes then the fuse blows. I replaced the fuse again and it blew after about 10 minutes again.

So then I started reading and googling

I pulled out all the tubes, turned it on, it will sit with power for a long time. Then added rectifier, then preamp, then power tubes.

Currently it will run fine with either power tube (6V6) but not with both. If I have it powered and both tubes installed the fuse blows after some minutes.

What is your advice for my first replacement? My instinct is power tubes, but they each seem to work ok alone... what else should I consider?

Thanks for your patience w/ a beginner
Old 28th October 2012, 08:36 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

If you have and can wield a multimeter it will be easier to help you. Also does it have original caps and valves etc?

i actually have the same amp on the bench right now that is in need of some tlc.

Last edited by famousmockingbird; 28th October 2012 at 08:43 PM.
Old 28th October 2012, 10:31 PM   #3
diyAudio Member