Marshall avt20 problem - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th October 2012, 12:17 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Marshall avt20 problem

Hi guys. I'm new here and am trying to get some info about my amp problem. I am new to tube amps and a friend gave me a marshall avt 20 not working. I noticed the pin to the positive speaker lug came loose so I resoldered it. Still nothing. I'm getting power and I notice the leds coming on when I push the od switch. I was thinking that the loose speaker connection could have caused me to blow a resistor since I read that you can't run these things without a load. None of the resistors look burned though. Any advise on what to check?
Old 25th October 2012, 01:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hey,
Note this is a solid state amp. AFAIK it only has a single 12AX7 in the overdrive circuit. Think you should seek help in the "Instruments & Amps" forum.
Old 25th October 2012, 04:46 PM   #3
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Belongs in Instruments and Amps, will move it there. (Moved)
Old 25th October 2012, 05:46 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Is there almost a "click" sound when power on or off the amp?
Old 25th October 2012, 08:07 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by revintage View Post
Hey,
Note this is a solid state amp. AFAIK it only has a single 12AX7 in the overdrive circuit. Think you should seek help in the "Instruments & Amps" forum.