Making a Midi keyboard - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd May 2012, 07:48 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Making a Midi keyboard

Hi there.
I'm new to this site, so please be nice :P

I have an old casio keyboard here which is broken. I opened it up and have it sitting here in front of me. What I want to do is use the existing switches that are there for the keys, and use some sort of microcontroller to output a midi signal.
I'm a electronics hobbyist so I know my way around a circuit board, but I am new to Midi, however I understand the fundamentals of it.

Could someone point me in the right direction as to what IC's to use. Maybes there's already an IC that translates switches into a midi signal?

Thanks!
Old 3rd May 2012, 08:02 PM   #2
N Brock is offline N Brock  United States
diyAudio Member

Are the keys just switches (on/off) or do the have velocity information as well?

If they're just switches you can use an arduino pretty easily to do this. There are tons of examples online for midi + arduino.

Good luck,
Nelson
Old 3rd May 2012, 08:12 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hmm, I'm not sure what the name of these types of switches are. If you've ever opened a game console controller, its the switches that are on the buttons.
As far as I know, they are just on/off, and they work just like on/offs, so for the sake of this project, lets just assume they are on/off :P
Old 3rd May 2012, 08:23 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

See Home he is giving away the scanning software he wrote. See also MIDI & Sound Modules for various other approachs. You have to set the default view yourself at more than 1 day, as the moderator there doesn't want visitors to see anything for some reason.