Amps... where to start? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th February 2012, 12:36 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Amps... where to start?

Hi guys,

I'm new around here, new to electronics and a lover of guitars (not really a guitarist yet).
I didn't know where to post so... here it goes...

As I said i'm a newbie on electronics, done some stuff, tried to read some schematics, some I've been successful eheh.
I'm thinking of moving to the guitar amp stuff. Where should I start? I don't want kits because they're kind of expensive (from Portugal). Unless I buy the components and use the schematics... Anyway... Where should I start? What amp should I build? I guess tubes is too much for my knowledge now no?
Old 4th February 2012, 12:56 PM   #2
GloBug is offline GloBug  Canada
Banned

I would recommend something based off this amplifier.
LM3886 Schematics + PCB
You will have to add a preamp section for guitar bla bla blah but looks like a good project.
Have a read.
Old 4th February 2012, 01:13 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks... checking it... It seems pretty easy (by the photo, the schematics kind of wtf's me)

But what o you mean by having to add a preamp? Doesn't this LM3886 do that already?
Isn't that the all point? (newbie questions sorry)

What about speaker columns for the guitar amp? Is there any "guide"?
Old 4th February 2012, 02:38 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Location: Mar del Plata, a BIG seasonal getaway city, can see the Ocean from our residence.
You need to think a small tube amp for guitar work....They are "easy" to build.........Using Solid State for a Guitar amp is .....well...Blasphemy.