Fuzz Face

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I'm planning to build a Fuzz Face according to the first schematic here : Fuzz Central -- Arbiter Fuzz Face

I have multiple questions that may sound dumb, but I'm totally new to DIY :

- There are multiple versions of the AC128 transistor on Banzai Music :
these : Fuzz Face high gain transistor set :: Transistors (matched / selected) :: Semiconductors :: Electronic Parts :: Banzai Music (there's also a selection of diverse version of the AC128 for different gain settings)
or these : AC128 :: Germanium Transistors :: Transistors :: Semiconductors :: Electronic Parts :: Banzai Music

Why such a price difference ? Which is better ?

- I also want to ditch the battery and operate it only on a 9V adapter, I just have to remove the battery connector and put a 9V connector instead, right ?

This is the same circuit used in the two transistor version of the Vox Tone Bender. I made a lot of them in the late 60's and early 70's. The circuit is very sensitive to the transistor used.

I built a board with transistor sockets and just tried lots of parts. Most PNP transistors will work and create some sound. A few will not. Everything that I tried had a different sound. The unit that I kept for myself for all these years has transistors out of an old Sony radio, 2SB383 I think. If you have any PNP germanium transistors, try them. Anything out of a 60's vintage Japanese transistor radio should work. Most silicon transistors work but don't sound so good.

You can experiment with the resistor values in search of the right sound. I wouldn't go beyond 1/2 to 2X the values shown in the diagram.

The AC128 went extinct a long time ago. There are some "new reproduction" parts but they are likely another type that has been relabled AC128. I don't know anything about the parts you linked to since I have never tried them.