Tube FX loop?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need some help with Tube FX loop design. I getting lost in the details. This for a modified Plexi amp.

Thanx!
FXLOOP-1.jpg

Last edited:
Neither of those FX loop schematics are going to work properly ......

Im not good at explaining stuff but I"ll try , .... You need a shorting 1/4 in jack ......

look at the FX loop in this schematic , and pay attention to the FX output .....

http://www.paia.com/prodimages/siabsch.pdf

the shorting jack makes it so the audio is diverted through the FX loop when there is a patch chord plugged in but lets the signal flow to the rest of the circuit when the FX loop isn"t in use .....

My latest amp I just had an output from the preamp and an input for the power amp and just put my effects inbetween and use one of those 6 inch patch chords to connect the two when not using effects , not elegant but it works .....

Last edited:
Also your cathode bypass caps seem way to small , with 0.1uF caps you are bleeding off all your bass which won"t sound good unless you like a tinny sounding guitar .....

The same with the Cathode follower stage , 0.1uF is WAY too small for a cap coming off a cathode follower stage , they are low impedance so you need an extra large cap there , 4.7uF is a good value that won"t destroy your bass .....

The same with the Cathode follower stage , 0.1uF is WAY too small for a cap coming off a cathode follower stage , they are low impedance so you need an extra large cap there , 4.7uF is a good value that won"t destroy your bass .....

While I don't completely disagree with the sentiment (0.1uF is probably too small), your reasoning is incorrect.

A low OUTPUT impedance has no need for a large capacitor, it's the impedance of the following INPUT that decides the value of the capacitor.