Tube Guitar amp, dummy load - Advice needed! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th October 2011, 03:17 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tube Guitar amp, dummy load - Advice needed!

Hi, I'm new to this but already chuffed with the amount of info I've found.

I apologise in advance if this is a very basic question, I've searched for an answer but my basic knowledge of electronics is (so far) very weak and I'm not sure I can formulate an answer based on other threads; I kinda need things explained in relation to my specific problem at this stage...if that makes any sense.

I'm building a clone of a Matchless Spitfire Head (15watts). I'm sticking to the Matchless schematic as closely as possible except for a couple of mods: only one input, and I'm replacing the line-out (which I won't ever use) with a 16ohm speaker output so I'll have 4, 8 and 16 ohm outputs.

Can someone explain how I go about installing a 'dummy load' to prevent blowing the output tranny (Hammond 1650E) if the amp is switched on with no speaker attached? It's unlikely I will ever do this in normal studio use but I'll have to initially in order to check all the voltages etc.

Any diagrams/photos/schematics would really help.

I understand the basic principle: appropriately valued resistor in parallel to the output on a switching socket, which disengages from the circuit when a speaker is plugged in, but what value resistors should I use? 15watt and 4/8/16ohm on each output socket, or do I just need one overall? And if so, how do I wire this in?