Need recommendations for DIY small guitar amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th June 2011, 01:08 AM   #1
bst is offline bst  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Need recommendations for DIY small guitar amp

I'm not a musician, but have several long-time friends who are. I'd like to build some small (<5 watt) practice amps to give as gifts. I've looked at many sites recently, but the more designs I see, the more I realize how little I know.

I've built and restored more than a few hi-fi amplifiers, but know nothing about guitar amps. I have no idea what 'crunch' or 'chime' refer to, nor what makes an amplifier 'bluesy' as opposed to 'metal'. All I know is that I have a basement workshop filled with parts, and the desire to build some really nice little amps that will be appreciated by guys who've played guitar for four decades.

I've looked at some of the projects on AX84, as well as numerous variations of Fender Champs and Princetons. I'm intrigued with Boozhound Labs' BHL-15. My goal is a little self-contained amp and speaker package in a small portable cabinet, which can be used in a residence without irritating the neighbors.

If any of you can recommend a simple all-tube design which fits this description, I'd appreciate your insights -- especially if you're a fifty-something serious amateur player, who still gets the urge to play some classic licks from John Mayall to Eric Clapton, or Duane Allman to Buddy Guy, at one o'clock in the morning.
Old 8th June 2011, 01:32 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Crunch is how much distortion the sound has.