Building a Guitar amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 2nd March 2011, 02:41 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Location: Manchester, NH; Rochester, NY; or Pittsfield, MA depending on the time of year
Default Building a Guitar amp

Hello,

I am in the process of trying to build a guitar amp. I am currently going to school for EE, so I have a decent handle on electronics. Because of this, I was originally leaning towards a SS amp, but after reading more and more I think i finally convinced myself to go for a tube or at least hybrid amp. Since i am new to vacuum tubes, I have a few questions:

1. If I go for a hybrid design, what is more important: a tube preamp or a tube power amp? I have heard conflicting views on this but no real information to back it up. any ideas?

2. Are there any nuances to using tubes that I might not be aware of? ive read the geofex FAQ, but I want to make sure im not missing something.

3. does anyone have any fairly simple schematics for tube amps that have good tone? I'm not opposed to mixing and matching preamp and power amps from different places, and also plan on making some of my own alterations to the circuits (ie 10-band EQ and potentially other effects), I'm just looking for some good starting points.

I already have 2 12" 8ohm speakers... These to be exact:
Eminence Cannabis Rex 12" Guitar Speaker, 8 Ohm, 50 Watt#

I was planning on using these unless theres a good reason not to.

If you need any other info about my plans, please let me know. I am very excited to get this project underway!

Thanks,
Matt
Old 2nd March 2011, 05:24 PM   #2
diyAudio Member