ECL82 pp guitar amp project

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have started a project build based on ECL82 tubes. I´ve decided to go for a class AB push pull design. This is my first attempt to design my own amp.
I got parts from an old philips radio with a dead transformer and a 8 ohm speaker element that I had laying around.
Now i´m in the process of rewinding the transformer and designing the amp. I have chosen an ht+ of 250 VDC. The purpose of this amp is to learn about tube amps and get a small rehearsal amp.
The preamp consist of one triode section, and is then followed by a cathodyne phase inverter (the other triode).
The problems that i now am having are the coulings between stages (high-pass filters?), the biasing part of the power stage and the value of the grid-stoppers.

Any ideas, comments or other thoughts?

Coupling: use simple 0.1uF 300V or higher MKP caps; upgrade if you see the need to, but there's no reason to spend an arm and a leg at this point. You could also consider DC coupling, but as a first build, I'd stick to using coupling caps.
Power stage bias: simple resistor (bypassed with a 150uF or bigger cap for better low-freq response) bias does nicely for an application like this. Decide on an operating point using the curves for the pentode section of the PCL and then calculate bias resistor accordingly. There are many online tutorials for this.
Grid stoppers: just use 1k and be done with it, or spend hours and hours over-complicating things. Choice is yours.

Since this is your first build and not hi-fi, I'd go for the tried and tested solutions as outlined above.

Ok, thanks for the clarifications.
I was a little worried about little gain, and my backup solution is to use both triode sections in a gain stage with tone stack in between, and a ecc85 as a long tail pair. Is this possible?