Fender Frontman 212R-Clean channel sounds "dirty" - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th January 2011, 06:50 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Unhappy Fender Frontman 212R-Clean channel sounds "dirty"

I just bought a Fender Frontman 212R. The PO (previous owner) duped me by saying that the fuzzy sound on the clean channel was due to a blown speaker. Upon testing at home, I found the speakers are fine, the trouble is inside: the clean channel does not sound clean at all - the sound is fuzzy, like a distortion channel. The drive channel sounds "normal", that is, distorted.
What could make the amp's clean channel sound like that? What should I look into first? (I confess I am not very experienced with electronics. Built some kits with my sons (they worked after some heavy fiddling and consults to the seller, but they did). "Fixing" is something else - and professionals here in Israel are all sharks, so please try to help me!
Aharon
Old 15th January 2011, 07:25 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hmmmm...

Are there any components that look damaged on the circuit board? Any burnt/blackened bits, bulging capacitors...
Anyway, don't worry just yet - a fault inside the amplifier will almost certainly be cheaper than a replacement speaker, so you'll save money!
Does the sound change as you alter the volume?
Old 15th January 2011, 08:24 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

There's a 'preamp out' socket, and a 'power amp in' socket, so first thing to do is find out if it's the preamp or power amp that's at fault, the sockets make that easy.

It 'might' even be dirty switch contacts on the 'power amp in' socket, I've seen that cause distortion on some gear.
Old 15th January 2011, 08:52 PM   #4
diyAudio Member