Help a noob to design a guitar pedal!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
(Apologies if this is in the wrong section – I wasn’t quite sure where to put it.)

I am a near-total noob when it comes to the theory and design of circuits, but I know my way around a soldering iron and my lead singer builds robots for a living so I’m pretty sure he can help me out. :p Basically, I want to build a pedal for my electric guitar that houses the following effects, in order:

1. High-pass filter
- Bypass toggle switch
- Around 12 or 24 dB/octave cut
- Internal frequency adjust (trim pot/cap/whatever, range of roughly 20 Hz to 400 Hz)
2. Semi-parametric midrange boost
- Bypass footswitch
- Frequency pot (maybe around 200 Hz to 12 kHz)
- Preset gain (around 6 dB)
3. High shelf boost
- Bypass toggle switch
- Frequency pot (maybe 4 kHz to 12 kHz)
- Preset gain (around 6 dB)
4. Compressor
- Bypass footswitch
- Attack, release, threshold, ratio internal adjustment
- Output gain pot

I’d also like a “master EQ bypass” footswitch that bypasses the HPF, mid boost and high boost all at once.

I’m looking for a relatively simple circuit (so that I can actually build it), but I also want it to sound decent. I’ve got a good amp and a good guitar so it’s not like I need to rely on superb pedals to get a good sound, but I don’t want to build complete junk either. I’ve located good suppliers of electronics components and they sell things like enclosures and footswitches, so all I need now is someone to help me design the actual circuit – in other words, you fine folk.

Before you guys issue the usual warnings against DIY: I live in South Africa, and while electronics components are cheap, guitar pedals are not. The cost for components (including a casing and everything) to build a Boss DS-1 is roughly 1/8th of the retail price to buy one.