Ultralinear fender?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Howdy!

I'm replacing the output transformer on my 65 Fender Super Reverb. Ive settled on the Hammond 1650NA. Now, the curios thing is that Hammond mentions it having 40% screen-grid taps on the primary for Ultra-Linear operation. Now, I'm a beginner, but I know Fender=Awesome clean amp and Ultra-Linear=Hi-fi and Hi-fi=Super clean (duh), and I was wondering how I could incorporate this into my amp. I'm pretty handy at working on old fenders, so I can probably handle any wiring required.

I've poked around an old Mullard 5-20 schematic and I can see how these taps are incorporated, I'm really just wondering if these are feasible in a Fender.

Guitarist who claim to have heard both are almost unanimous that the UL approach is less desirable when using the amp for guitar. Is the OP tranny intended to be used on either design?

The UL used SS rectification with no choke. The “normal” ones used tube rectification and a choke.

Schematic for the UL model shows 470ohmers on the screens. Same as with the non-ULs including the original 1965 and the reissue.

Reissue:

http://www.schematicheaven.com/fenderamps/65_super_reverb.pdf

Original 1965

http://www.schematicheaven.com/fenderamps/super_reverb_ab763_schem.pdf

UL

http://www.schematicheaven.com/fenderamps/cbs_70w_mstrvol_pullsw_super-pro-bmstr_rev.pdf

Honestly I doubt you would like the sound. The Fender "clean" tone is really not all that clean. It has lots of harmonics and color. Try taking an electric guitar and recording it directly into a computer and you will see the direction that ultra linear will bring your tone. A truly clean tone - an electric guitar running direct into some hifi speakers - will sound very thin and bland.

oldmanStrat said:
yeah, but you guys aren't telling him how to do the UL...