Speaker wiring help please - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Live Sound > Instruments and Amps

Instruments and Amps Everything that makes music, Especially including instrument amps.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th May 2009, 04:23 PM   #1
dave13 is offline dave13  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Smile Speaker wiring help please

Hello please can someone help me - i have no speaker wiring experience and have found what i want on the net but i don't know how to do it. Please could somebody tell me how to wire a Mono/Stereo 412 cabinet with 8 ohm G12's in it. I have attached a wiring diagram which i have found on the net and a picture of my amp with labels and + and - . I have a switch to change from mono - stereo which i think was off a 1960cab - I am wiring a AVT 8 ohm cab which was just mono when bought.

The blurb on the website ( http://www.colomar.com/Shavano/4x12wiring.html ) said this :
Mono/Stereo in same cabinet
4 Musical Intrument Speakers. Mono/Stereo selectable by using a Switch.

**Option 2**
4 - 8 ohm speakers = 16 ohms to each channel if run in Stereo, 8 ohms in Mono mode.

The Right channel jack is completely disconnected when in Mono Mode. Do Not alter this configuration (you risk doing serious damage to your power amps if wired differently).