Runaway bias on Hot Rod Deville

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

been repairing a mid-nineties Fender Hot Rod Deville - schematic available here. When I bought it, it was suffering from extreme volume loss & distortion, which I eventually tracked down to the power section, specifically a plate load resistor that had come open. Replaced it & its brother (R57 & R58), also replaced the screen resistors (R61 & R62) with 1K ohm because I am running it now with JJ 6V6S instead of 6L6. Did all this with the help of the "Unofficial Fender Hot Rod Deluxe Owner's Guide", since I am new to tube amps and their issues.

So last night, I put the new tubes in: 2x JJ 6V6S, 2x JJ ECC83s (12AX7), 1x JJ ECC832 (12DW7) in V2. Tubes from tubedepot.com. Started to bias - recommended for 6V6 is ~40mV. I'm at 22mV near the lowest part of the pot's range, all good, turning it up a bit, 25mV, turn it up a bit more, not even halfway on the bias pot. The voltage starts running away. It climbed to 60mV in about 5 seconds, with no sign of stopping, before I turned the bias pot back down and it settled back at 22mV. So I'm a little worried, but I let it warm up for 10 minutes or so, then try again. This time I get it to hold steady at 30mV or so, so I turn it around and start playing through the amp.

10 minutes later, I notice that the amp is getting really hot, and I look at the tubes - orange glow on the plates, and I quickly measure bias - 120mV! Nuts! Turned it off. The problem remains - runaway bias above about 25mV.

My plan is to check the coupling caps, and clean the tube sockets - haven't done that yet - but I was wondering if you all have any advice beyond that. Could it be the bias pot itself? How would I go about checking that? Advice appreciated! Thanks!

Jesse

EatMoreArt said: